Photo Credit:

One of the greatest architecture in India – The Chittor Fort


The Chittor Fort or Chittorgarh Fort is one of the greatest architecture in India which is one of the world Heritage Site by UNESCO. There is a strong history value attached with. The Chittorgarh fort has seven gates out of which one was built in fifth century and rest were built in 15th century.

(1) Ram Pol is the main gate to enter the fort. (2) Padan Pol is the gate where Prince Bagh Singh was killed in 1535 while Jaimal was killed between (3) Bhairon Pol and (4) Hanuman Pol(5) Jodala Pol is the combination of two gates. The arches of the gate is connected to the base of the (6) Laxman Pol.

Padan Pol

Padan Pol

Padan Pol is the first gate of the fort and its name is derived from the Rajasthani word Patwi which means eldest or first.

Bhairon Pol

Bhairon Pol

Bhairon Pol is the second gate of the fort and the statue of Lord Bhairon is situated nearby.

Hanuman Pol and Ganesh Pol

Hanuman Pol
Ganesh Pol

Hanuman Pol is the third gate of the fort and is named so due to the construction of Hanuman temple nearby. Ganesh Pol is the fourth gate where a temple of Lord Ganesh is situated. The temple is very old and beautiful.

Jodala Pol, Laxman Pol

Jodala Pol
Laxman Pol

Jodala Pol is the fifth gate of the fort and since it is connected with the sixth pol so it was named as jodala pol. Between this and the Ganesh pol there is a monument of eklingnath. Laxman Pol is the sixth gate to which a tourist can reach after a sharp turn from jodala Pol. Near to Laxman Pol there is a temple for Lord Laxman.

Ram Pol

Ram Pol

Ram Pol is the seventh gate and it is named so as the ancestors of the kings of Mewar were the descendants of Lord Rama.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.