Historic Third Term: PM Modi’s Swearing-In Ceremony

The swearing-in ceremony for the new government at the Centre will take place at Rashtrapati Bhawan on Sunday evening.

President Droupadi Murmu has invited Prime Minister-designate Narendra Modi to form the new government. The swearing-in ceremony will be held at 7:15 PM in the evening.

The President will administer the Oath of Office and Secrecy to Mr Modi and the members of Union Council of Ministers.

On Friday, Mr Modi had met the President and staked claim to form the new government. An NDA delegation led by BJP President JP Nadda had also met the President and submitted a letter stating that Mr Narendra Modi had been elected leader of the BJP Parliamentary Party.

Letters of support from NDA constituent parties were also handed over to the President.

Akashvani correspondent reports that several leaders from neighbouring countries have been invited to attend the swearing-in ceremony of Narendra Modi, who is set to become the Prime Minister for a third consecutive term.

Leaders from India’s neighbourhood and Indian Ocean region will attend the ceremony as distinguished guests. President of Sri Lanka, Ranil Wickremesinghe, President of Maldives, Dr. Mohamed Muizzu, Vice-President of Seychelles, Ahmed Afif and Prime Minister of Bangladesh, Sheikh Hasina, Prime Minister of Mauritius, Pravind Kumar Jugnauth, Prime Minister of Nepal, Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ and Prime Minister of Bhutan, Tshering Tobgay will attend the ceremony.

Our correspondent reports that the Leaders have started arriving in New Delhi for the swearing-in ceremony.

Prime Minister of Bangladesh Sheikh Hasina and Vice President of Seychelles Ahmed Afif have already arrived in New Delhi for the swearing-in ceremony this evening.

The visit of the leaders to attend the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi for his third consecutive term is in keeping with the highest priority accorded by India to its ‘Neighbourhood First’ policy and Security and Growth for All in the Region-SAGAR vision.

In addition to participating in the swearing-in ceremony, the leaders will also attend a Banquet hosted by President Droupadi Murmu at Rashtrapati Bhavan. Delhi Police has taken stringent measures to ensure security during the event.

Delhi Police has prohibited flying of sub conventional aerial platforms including paragliders, paramotors, hang gliders, Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs), and hot air balloons over Delhi during the swearing in ceremony. The ban will remain in place on the 9th and 10th of June.

Leave a Comment