ICC Hall of Fame: Virender Sehwag, Diana Edulji, and Aravinda de Silva Inducted

ICC Hall of Fame: Virender Sehwag, former Indian Women Test skipper Diana Edulji, and Sri Lanka’s iconic star Aravinda de Silva are the latest inductees to be added to the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the names of the three legends of cricket as the latest inductees.

Sehwag, a destructive opener of the modern era, holds a record that is still hard to match, the first Indian with a two Triple centuries.

The second inductee Edulji captained India for almost three decades, and as a left-arm orthodox spinner claimed 100 wickets while making 54 international appearances. Edulji took up the role of administrator with Western Railways and worked hard to create opportunities for employment for women cricketers.

Also read: ICC World Cup Semi-Final: India To Take On New Zealand In First Semifinal In Mumbai Tomorrow

The third inductee was a winner of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup with Sri Lanka in 1996 – Aravinda de Silva. The Sri Lankan batter was known for his consistency, scoring 20 Test centuries during an 18-year international career which is the third most by any Sri Lanka men’s player.

The ICC Hall of Fame honors the greatest international cricketers throughout the long history of the sport, and the enduring legacies of de Silva, Edulji, and Sehwag see them join as inductees number 110, 111, and 112 respectively.

As part of this year’s celebrations, the Class of 2023 will be inducted in a special on-field ceremony at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai during the first semi-final of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 on November 15.

Leave a Comment